Find the perfect new home in Charlotte!

Mecklenburg County, NC

History of Mecklenburg County

When King George III of Great Britain married Charlotte of Mecklenburg-Strelitz on September 8, 1761, this county was named for the new queen's region of origin. Ironically, Mecklenburg County allegedly is also the first portion of the Thirteen American Colonies to declare independence from King George and Great Britain. The story states the Mecklenburg Declaration of Independence was signed on May 20th, 1775.  Regardless of whether or not this document ever existed, North Carolina pays homage to it by incorporating the date of signing on the state flag.

The seven primary cities and towns in Mecklenburg County are Charlotte, Cornelius, Davidson, Huntersville, Matthews, Mint Hill, and Pineville. Charlotte, named for George's wife, is the largest city in Mecklenburg County. The city of Charlotte is also the Mecklenburg County seat.

Mecklenburg's Business Economy

Mecklenburg County is home to an incredible variety of businesses. Six Fortune 500 companies are headquartered here, each belonging to a different industry. Bank of America and Duke Energy top this list, each of which have their own skyscrapers in Uptown Charlotte. Nucor, a steel producer, comes in at number three, and is followed by Family Dollar, a retail chain. The final two on the list are Sonic Automotive, which deals in car sales and services, and SPX, a producer of electronic components.

Mecklenburg County New Homes

If you've come here looking for new homes in Mecklenburg County, just click the link to see what is out there!